Jika Shield - Grand Final
Date of Event : Wed Apr 5, 2017 10:37PM

The 2016-2017 Jika Shield Grand Final was one for the classics.


North Brunswick Rosebank won the toss and elected to bat. Bruno Piriana played one of his best innings as Captain of the Rosellas and along with evergreen Tony Tenuta had the Rivergum bowlers struggling for a break through. Tony was first to go for a very solid 46 when the score was on 86. Steve Favrin then joined Bruno and together pushed the score to 176 when Bruno was out for a well deserved 88. Joel Thompson and Steve added another 40 runs when Joel was dismissed. With the pursuit of quick runs to bolster the score Steve was out for 52, Then Paul Acker for a cameo 13, Damien Sampimom and S. Ghasimzadeh got the score to 5/245 of their 80 overs. Best of the Rivergum bowlers were Matt Perri 3/53 and Sean Neary 2/59


Rivergum had to bat well to have any chance of winning. Alex Jesensek and Matt Kiely set about the task in great fashion. Rivergum's first wicket was lost at 98 with Matt making a very good 48, a mini collapse saw Rivergum lose their next 4 wickets for 31 runs before the skipper, Gary Bell and Jarrod Bannister consolidated the innings. Gary was out with the score at 6/180, still in with a chance, but the overs were reducing quickly. Scott Morley added 19 before he too was on his way, 7/213. Unfortunately for Rivergum Jarrod was out soon after for 53 and from 8/226 and only a few overs left, the North Brunswick Rosebank bowlers and fielders put the clamps on tight and Rivergum were all out for 230. Best of the bowling for North Brunswick Rosebank, Josh Boyle 3/37 and Joe Russo 3/80.

A fitting Grand Final played between the two most dominate Jika Shield teams from the past five seasons. In this time the score is North Brunswick Rosebank 2, Rivergum 3. 


Man of the Match Bruno Piraina.

An extra special thank you to the team at Northern Socials CC for their efforts on both days. The Association held its first Grand Final Luncheon and it was well attended by the two participating Clubs, Association Life Members, special guests including the Major of Darebin and the staff from the Darebin Sports Department.

Last updated: Wednesday April 5, 2017 11:11PM
Author: Neil Riley